CEBUaNUN: Affordable Place to Visit in Cebu City, Philippines

The only reason why I had this tour is for me to attend the YFC International Conference in Bohol. But God is so great for letting me experience His love not only in Bohol through Conference but also in Cebu.

20160406_0753052

April 6, 2016 at 8:30am when my feet touched the beautiful province – Cebu. I don’t have any itinerary and accommodation yet, but I just remember what my dad advised me – to visit Sr. Eliani from Daughter of St. Camillus. While I am on the Airport, I called Tita Alice, my Tita in CFC that has a contact and address for Sr. Eliani, she just gave me the address without my knowledge on how to get there.

Luckily, I have this YFC sister assisting the delegates for the Conference in the airport, and advised me to just ride the myBus rather than taxi. Praise God, I just spent 25php for my transportation rather than 200php for taxi fare going to the city proper.

20160406_0813364

Where do I go next? while walking around outside SM, there is this words that continuously running on my mind – “Kasama ko si magtanong”. Then I saw the jeep terminal outside SM, I tried to wait. Unfortunately, there is no jeep that stops there and then I ask the guard that roaming around and he advised me to go to the UV express terminal. Then I walk again. Upon asking to the drivers of UV, I just didn’t understand them because I don’t understand Cebuano dialect, and they have different directions given, so I decided to just ride a taxi.

When I finally came to the Daughter of St. Camillus in Talamban, Cebu. Sisters accommodated me and prepared a breakfast for me. That feeling when you are too shy because they are the one whose preparing food for you, SUPER SHY. After breakfast, they roam me around the place and to the home for the aged where they are serving. Then, Sr. Eliani ask me if I will going to stay, and then I said yes. Praise God, I have my accommodation already.

11am when I decided to go to the city proper where I go to:

Fort San Pedro

 

Fort Santiago was built in 1738 during the early time of the Spanish era. It is a military defense structure and consider as the oldest tri-bastion fort in the Philippines.

Magellan’s Cross

The original cross planted by Ferdinand Magellan, April 21, 1521.

20160406_1423022

Basilica del Santo Niño

Founded in 1565. It is a minor basilica in Cebu City

20160406_1331058

I also went to Basilica del Santo Niño Museum, located in front of the Church.

20160406_1419335

Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral (The Metropolitan Cathedral of the Most Holy Name of Jesus and of St. Vitales)

20160406_1441201

It was elevated as a metropolitan archdiocese on April 28, 1934 with the dioceses of Dumaguete, Maasin, Tagbilaran, and Talibon as suffragans.

I just spent less than half of my day going to this beautiful places and museums by just walking. Less for transportation fare and more for exploration. Hooray!

My DIY itinerary guide:

1:00 – Roam around Fort San Pedro

2:00 – Merienda

2:30 – Magellan’s Cross and walk to Basilica Del Sto. Niño

3:30 – Basilica Museum

4:00 – Cebu Metropolitan Cathedral

4:30 – Roam around the City / Back to accommodation

Expenses:

Transportation – Approx: 40.00 (back and fort to and from accommodation)

Fort San Pedro – 30.00

Basilica Del Sto. Niño Museum – 50.00

 

Praise God for this bonus experience. 🙂 Thank you for reading~

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

